top of page

Dundalk Gaels AGM 2022

Last Friday, For the first time in three years the club hosted an in person AGM in the clubrooms. With a moderate number in attendance, the officers who held positions in 2022 remain in place heading into the new year ahead.

Chairperson Daniel Watters began his opening address expressing his delight with the return of the AGM to the clubrooms " I'd like to welcome you all down to our first in person AGM in 3 years. It’s great to have this back in our clubhouse just as it has been to have Pairc na Gael re-opened fully since earlier this year"

"First of all I'd like to thank all of our club members, officials, mentors, players, parents, FAS workers and supporters in all the help they have given over the last year. I'd also like to thank our various sponsors who have all contributed to the club in the past year. Its also important at this point to remember our club members and our own loved ones who passed on in the last year. Unfortunately we lost a number of integral members in the last 12 months" continued Watters.

He also went onto praise the fundraising committee for the successful year that was had off the field with the return of The great Gaels walk, five a side tournament, Easter camp to name a few before praising all the underage coaches of boys and girls teams who had worked tirelessly and enjoyed a fruitful year on the field.

Watters concluded "Personally, thanks to you all for your contributions to the club over the last year and for any assistance you provided me with. Theirs too many people to name in this regard but thank you all. As with last year I’ll finish with a plea, if there is any way you can assist the club please do, we are all volunteers with the aim of improving the club and getting as many people as possible playing and involved. We look forward to the next year and what it brings. This is an exciting time for the for the club and it’s up to each and every one of us to make sure we make the most if it".

Clodagh Culligan starting another campaign as club secretary began her address "Firstly and most importantly we remember all those within our club who lost loved ones since our last AGM in 2021. 2022 was for a variety of reasons a difficult year for many associated with our club. We remember fondly all those club members and family members we have lost this year. We keep them all in our thoughts and prayers. It would be wrong to not mention the loss of one of our greatest Gaels this year – Tony Coleman, who we sadly lost in February. Tony was a Gaels man through and through and did so many seen and unseen jobs around the club for many, many years. He always greeted everyone who arrived at our club with a warm smile and a friendly chat. His dedication to the club lotto raised so much money for the club and allowed so many things happen through the years. He simply loved the Gaels and the Gaels loved him."

She went on to praise our mens and ladies adult teams for the progress on the field and said 2023 brings lots of optimism as we build on the work of 2022. She also expressed her delight with a return to off the field activities "A busy year off the field with the return of our Great Gaels Walk this year, a 5 side a competition and our recent Reeling in the Years event – all incredible club events with wonderful memories made. Massive congratulations to everyone involved in organising these fantastic club activities".

Long term treasurer Alan Martin after reading out the treasurers report which showed the club in a healthy position said "The club is doing quite well at the minute but with plans in place for floodlights etc, we can never stop fundraising. Any ideas always welcome for fundraising but all in all in a good position". Dundalk Gaels Committee 2023 -

Chairperson - Danny Watters

Vice Chairman - Niall Morgan Secretary - Clodagh Culligan Assistant Secretary - Sadhbh Lambert Treasurer - Alan Martin

Assistant Treasurer - Tony McBride PRO - Ciaran Culligan

Registrar - Daire O'Callaghan Childrens officer - Noel Connolly and Elaine Hearty

Committee - Walter Lambert, Niall Lambert, Stephen Faulkner, Anthony McSorley, Laura Connolly, Dick O'Callaghan, Joe Carroll, PJ Loughran, Brian McDonnell, Fr Keenan, Paddy Hearty, Ronan Shields, Aaron Culligan.



bottom of page